May 18, 2024

Ensure social, financial empowerment to Puroiks: Guv

TAP | Updated: May 11, 2017

ITANAGAR, May 11: Governor PB Acharya on Thursday advised the members of the Autonomous Puroik Welfare Board (APWB) to be proactive and go out of the way to ensure that members of the Puroik community are socially and financially empowered.

Presiding over the first meeting of the board at Raj Bhawan here, Acharya asked the members to prepare the constitution at the earliest and give responsibilities to each and every member to address the community’s health, education, women welfare, sports and resettlement.

The governor said the board must rise to the expectation of the community, a Raj Bhavan report said.

Sharing the experiences and pain of his visit to Arunachal Pradesh in 1967, when he saw a bonded Puroik individual for the first time, the governor said the opportunity given to him to serve the state has made him focus on disadvantage groups such as the Puroiks.

He suggested a well-furnished office in the State Secretariat and in East Kameng, Kurung Kumey, Kra Daadi, Papum Pare and Lower Subansiri districts within a timeframe.

“There should be a separate budget provision, reservation in employment and special focus on skill development training and entrepreneurship for them,” Acharya said, adding that the Puroiks should be brought under the purview of central initiatives such as Food Security Act.

The governor called upon the financial institutions to assist the community under Corporate Social Responsibility.

APWB Chairman and Principle Secretary (Coordination) Satya Gopal emphasised on time-bound action plan for enrolment of the Puroik community in Jan Dhan Yojana, Aadhaar Card and registration under labour and employment. He also asked the RD secretary to explore houses under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana for them. 

The board members expressed their gratitude to the governor for his initiatives and special care for the downtrodden. Special invitees from the Puroik community also interacted with board members and extended suggestions.

Ten members of the 14-member board including Gopal, members Mesam Soja, Takia, Kapa Kholie (Secretary Labour and Employment), Dani Salu (Secretary Rural Development), Madhu K Garg (Secretary Social Justice, Empowerment and Tribal Affairs), Yeshi Wangmo Ringu (Secretary Finance) and members from financial institutes nominated by the chief minister including Dilip Kumar Datta (SBI AGM) and Dr Gyanendra Mani (General Manager NABARD) and member secretary of the Board Yumlum Kaha, Director SJETA  attended the meeting.

Special invitees including Rajeev Takuk (East Kameng DC), Kangki Darrang (DC Kurung Kumey) and Taw Tebin former Director Social Justice, Empowerment and Tribal Affairs as resource persons were also present, the report added.