April 24, 2024

Guv institutes awards for excellence

TAP | Updated: March 7, 2017

ITANAGAR, Mar 07: In a creditable move, state governor P B Acharya has instituted awards in the names of eminent personalities for outstanding students of 14 government colleges of the state every year. Three best students in academic, sports and performing arts in each college will be given the awards.

These awards are one of the many initiatives taken up by the governor, reports PRO.

The governor said these awards would encourage the students towards academic excellence, sports and performing arts and at the same time, it will also remind of them of the eminent personalities, who have rendered their valuable services in the state and country.  

The awards would be in the memory of Rajendra Prasad, Lal Bahardur Shastri, Vishnu Sahaya, Eknath Ranade, Col Luthra, R K Patir, KAA Raja, Daying Ering, Tomo Riba, Talom Rukbo, Lummer Dai, Indira Miri, Jikom Riba, C K Gohain Namchoom, Sobeng Tayeng, Indrajit Namchoom, Wangpha Lowang, Omem Deori, Nokmey Nimati, former chief minister Dorjee Khandu, Kuru Hassang, Tadar Tang, Nyari Welly, Kop Temi, Tagi Raja, Matmur Jamoh, Marto Kamdak, Jomin Tayeng, Bini Yanga, Saint Narottam, Muktinath Borthakur and Maj Bob Kathing.

An amount of Rs one lakh each would be kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund against each college and interest accrued each year would be used for that award, which will be in kind.

A certificate for each award winner would also be given from Raj Bhavan.

The selection of the award winning students and other details would be worked out by the respected college and Raj Bhavan.

In the same line, an amount of one lakh would be kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund for the awards for children of Raj Bhavan staff to encourage academic, sports and performance excellence.

It may be mentioned here that the governor has instituted awards for outstanding students of Puroik community and an amount of two lakh is kept in fixed deposit as corpus fund for the purpose, the report added.