April 24, 2024

Itanagar Mini Marathon - 2017: Hillang Ruth, Mudang Omo crowned champions

TAP | Updated: March 19, 2017

ITANAGAR, Mar 19: Hillang Ruth and Mudang Omo were on Sunday crowned champions of Itanagar Mini Marathon (Run for Consumer Awareness) in the women’s and men’s category respectively. 
Participated by more than 500 competitors, the mini marathon that started from IG Park here culminated at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Naharalgun. 
Where Yabang Tali and Nabam Yakar grabbed the second and third position in the women’s category respectively, Bamo Tannang and Karbu Kena won the same respectively in the men’s category.
With the win Ruth and Ome walked away with a cool cash prize of Rs 30,000 along with certificates while the ones who came in the second and third positions were awarded Rs 20,000 and 15,000 respectively along with certificates. 
The consolation prize winners which included Dare Rungchi, Soni Nalo, Yaro Maying, Rupa Bayor and Muni Leya in women’s category and Bomjo Kena, Tarh Tame, Rakesh Jomyang, Anondo Menjo and Gallo Joseph in men’s category took home certificates and Rs 5000 each.
Earlier while flagging off the marathon, Capital DC in-charge Talom Dupak exhorted the participants to know about the actual prize of commodities before buying it.
He also said that in this IT era every consumer should know and excess to its rights by knowing actual prize of every commodities, adding such awareness programme would check menace of corruption and price rise.
Dupak further asked the participants to avail various benefits provided by the Central and state governments.
Legal Metrology and Consumer Affairs controller Hoktum Ori informed that the purpose of organizing the mini marathon was to create awareness among the consumers.
He further asserted that the department would very soon create Consumer Care Centre in various places of the state.
Terming the participants as messenger of the consumers, Ori called upon them to spread the awareness messages among the society.