April 24, 2024

Asish Saha new Tripura PCC chief

TAP | Updated: June 18, 2023

AGARTALA, Jun 18: Former MLA Asish Kumar Saha has been appointed as the new president of the Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) replacing  Birajit Sinha.

            AICC general secretary KC Venugopal has already communicated the decision of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge about the appointment, said Saha on Sunday.

            "I thank the Congress president Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Ajay Kumar for giving me the opportunity to lead the party in Tripura. It is a very challenging task but I will try my best to rejuvenate the organisation", he said.

            In the 2018 Assembly elections, the party could not win a single seat in the 60-member Tripura House but two Congress nominees, Birajit Singha and Sudip Roy Barman, won in the 2023 state polls.                           "I want to work taking into confidence all senior leaders to boost the party before the general elections next year. I believe the party will be reorganised to take on the BJP which has installed a semi-fascist rule in the northeastern state|", he said.

            Barman congratulated Saha for being appointed as the TPCC president. "Congratulation to Saha for his appointment. Under your leadership, the organisation will gain momentum. I also appreciate outgoing TPCC president Birajit Sinha for his tremendous contribution", he said in a Facebook post.

            Saha, who quit as MLA and from the BJP in February last year along with Barman, returned to Congress ahead of the Assembly elections this year. However, he lost from his constituency, Town Bardowali, in the polls. PTI