June 12, 2024

Bagra appointed as Dy Speaker

TAP | Updated: March 7, 2017


NAHARLAGUN, Mar 07: The state Assembly on Tuesday unanimously elected technocrat cum bureaucrat turned politician Tumke Bagra as the Deputy Speaker for the second term.

Senior BJP member Jarkar Gamlin moved the motion for election of the deputy speaker which was seconded by Phosum Khimhun. There was only a single nomination filed for the post.

Bagra, a BJP MLA representing Aalo West constituency was elected deputy speaker for a short stint on March 22 last year during the Kalikho Pul-led PPA government but had to relinquish the post on July 12 last year after the Supreme Court reinstated the Nabam Tuki government in this politically fragile state.

Born in March 1, 1955, Bagra hails from Lipu Bagra village in West Siang district. He did his Bachelor of engineering in civil from Assam Engineering College, Guwahati and became the chief engineer of PHE department and later served as the secretary of the same department before being retired on February 28, 2013.

He won from the Aalo West constituency in 2014 under BJP ticket.

Assembly Speaker T Norbu Thongdok while congratulating Bagra for electing as the deputy speaker said, “I am lucky to have you as my deputy and am confident that with your vast experience, you will shoulder your responsibilities efficiently.”

Chief Minister Pema Khandu while congratulating Bagra on his appointment to the prestigious post expressed hope that with his long and illustrious career as a technocrat and bureaucrat, Bagra would deliver justice to the prestigious post and with his wisdom and knowledge guide the state legislative assembly towards excellence.

Khandu also appreciated all the members of the house including opposition members for supporting Bagra’s candidature.

In his statement to the house, Bagra while appreciating the members for reposing faith in him stated that due to Constitutional compulsion he had to resign from the post earlier.

“I am fortunate to have Thongdok as the Speaker who was my senior during my service tenure,” he added.

BJP MLAs including Japu Deru, Kento Rina, Laisam Simai, Wangling Lowangdong, Tage Taki, Jarkar Gamlin, Jomde Kena along with PPA members Takam Pario and Mutchu Mithi congratulated Bagra and termed him as a man of immense maturity, non-controversial and exuded confidence that with his vast knowledge and experiences, he would uphold the sanctity of the post with utmost sincerity.